It’s All Smoke and Mirrors: E-Cigarettes in the Library

 from http://isostock.deviantart.com/

Honestly, I’m surprised it didn’t happen sooner. I only caught it out of the corner of my eye, but I couldn’t deny what it was – smoke. A student was blatantly smoking in the Library. And then upon closer inspection, I saw it was an electronic cigarette. Not smoke at all, just  water vapor.

Nonetheless I was at a loss with what to do. My gut told me the student wasn’t doing anything wrong and they should be left alone. The Library certainly doesn’t have a policy against it and as far as I know neither does the University. The former public librarian in me thought, “Someone’s going to complain and we’ll need to have a plan.” I decided to ignore it.

When I returned to my office, my coworkers were all gathered together so I brought it up to them. We were all in agreement – the student has every right to smoke the e-cigarette. Shouldn’t we be encouraging students to quit smoking? If no one complains, let the student continue.

But again, what happens when someone does complain? The long term health risks of e-cigarettes are still questionable, as well as the risks of second hand exposure. The Library and University have no policy in place. Do we need to start considering writing such a policy?

I’m nervous of what universities might decide. Our society already tramples on the rights of cigarette smokers, are we going to see e-cigarette smokers’ rights trampled as well? I don’t know what the answer is, but I do know that librarians need to start thinking today about how they will handle e-cigarettes in their libraries.

One thought on “It’s All Smoke and Mirrors: E-Cigarettes in the Library

  1. We had the same thing happen in our library this time last year. The college had no particular policy as far as we knew so we didn’t feel we could ask him to leave as it isn’t as if there is smoke from it. However we had at least five complaints from other students. The college made the decision that the smoking of e-cigarettes was not allowed on the premises and would be treated the same as cigarette smoking. Any students with e-cigarettes now have to smoke outside.

Leave a Reply

